Our Outback Tourism Partnership


Outback tourism in Australia extends across five states and territories:

  • Queensland
  • New South Wales
  • Northern Territory
  • South Australia
  • Western Australia.

While each aggressively develops and markets their own part of outback tourism, an opportunity was identified to take a more coordinated approach in solving cross-border issues. The Our Outback Tourism Partnership was created to address the situation.

The project, which was part of Outback Business Networks, focused on:

  • Building reputation
  • Enhancing research and statistics
  • Encouraging sustainability
  • Lifting capability
  • Improving access
  • Increasing collaboration

The Our Outback Tourism Partnership drew together key tourism organisations to work together to implement the project.  It consisted of representatives from:

  • Australia’s Golden Outback
  • Desert Knowledge Australia
  • Outback Queensland Tourism Association
  • Outback Regional Tourism Organisation
  • South Australian Tourism Commission
  • South Australian Regional Tourism Organisations
  • Tourism Australia
  • Tourism Central Australia
  • Tourism NSW
  • Tourism NT
  • Tourism Queensland
  • Tourism WA